XBLite Forum    General Boards    XBLite Programming  ›  Creating ,dec
Users Browsing Forum
No Members and 1 Guests

Creating ,dec  This thread currently has 3,770 views. Print Print Thread
1 Pages 1 Recommend Thread
Peters
January 16, 2011, 12:01am Report to Moderator Report to Moderator
Baby Member
Hi, Im new to XBLite but have used vb within MS Access. Ive wriiten a program successfully using XBLite but have a problem incorporating an external DLL. I previously used inpout32.dll in vb wich was great (Writing to Parallel Port). Can i use it here and if i do what does the .DEC file require in it. Please dont be too technical, in fact a copy of such code would be great. If you have another DLL which will do the job, please let me know, and if possible send me he DEC file to use with it. Thanks.
Logged Offline
Private Message Private message
XBLiteAdmin
January 16, 2011, 3:15am Report to Moderator Report to Moderator
Administrator Group
Yes, you can use inpout32.dll with XBlite. But to call the exported functions directly, you need two things. The DEC file and also a LIB file.

The DEC is simply a listing of the exported functions:

EXTERNAL CFUNCTION Out32(SSHORT PortAddress, SSHORT data)
EXTERNAL CFUNCTION SSHORT Inp32(SSHORT PortAddress)

But you also need to create a LIB file as well. I have created the LIB file and a short xblite test file (based on the C test file) to see if it works.

See attached file inpout32.7z. In contains all the necessary files.

Hope this helps.

D.

Logged Offline
Site Site Private Message Private message Reply: 1 - 6
Peters
January 16, 2011, 2:55pm Report to Moderator Report to Moderator
Baby Member
Hi, Im very impressed by quick and accurate response. Great. I was not too sure where to put .def file but understood the rest, and it helped me to understand xblite better. The good news is, is that it all works and i am very grateful for your help, which was second to none. keep up good work. Thanks again Petes
Logged Offline